National Weather Service issues Winter Weather Advisories into Friday

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. -- The National Weather Service has issued a Winter Weather Advisory for much of the Ozarks through Thursday.

For Missouri counties, the advisory lasts through the entire day Thursday. It includes Barry, Barton, Benton (Mo.), Camden, Cedar, Christian, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Greene, Hickory, Howell, Jasper, Laclede, Lawrence, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Newton (Mo.), Oregon, Ozark, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Shannon, St. Clair, Stone (Mo.), Taney, Texas, Vernon, Webster, Wright Counties.

In Arkansas, the advisory goes from 6 p.m. Thursday until 6 a.m. Friday. It includes, Baxter, Boone, Fulton, Izard, Marion, Newton (Ark.), Searcy, Sharp, and Stone (Ark.).

A small amount freezing rain is likely through the evening. Temperatures will drop below freezing quickly, change road surfaces to slick conditions.
Some sleet or snow will also be possible, although, no accumulations of sleet or snow are expected.

Stay ahead of the weather with the KY3 and KSPR Weather Apps.

Read the original version of this article at