Missouri driver's licenses won’t be accepted at TSA checkpoints in 2018

By  | 
View Map

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. (KSPR) - The goal of the REAL ID Act is to establish minimum security standards for state-issued driver’s licenses and identification cards. Since Missouri has not complied with the new standards, Missouri driver’s licenses will no longer be accepted by federal agencies.

This means, starting January 22 of next year, Missouri licenses won’t be accepted at TSA checkpoints.

“We are trying to get the word out and all the other airports in Missouri are trying to do the same,” said Kent Boyd with the Springfield-Branson National Airport. “Unless the Missouri legislature fixes this problem, there’s going to be a lot of inconveniences at Missouri airports in January of next year,” said Boyd. Boyd also called the problem “inexcusable.” “The state of Missouri has had years to do something about this and it has refused to do so,” said Boyd. The REAL ID Act was passed by Congress in 2005.

Federal facilities and military bases already stopped accepting Missouri issued IDs. Shelly Oliver from Fort Leonard Wood knew the hassle of changing licenses first hand. She told KSPR News how special passes are required for people visiting because their Missouri driver’s license won’t be accepted.

She seemed to agree with Boyd. “Not everybody has another form of ID. What are they going to use? Bring their passports with them every time?” she asked. “I just think it’s a shame that you go to get a license and it’s not usable at an airport,” said Oliver.

“What I think is going to happen is the Missouri citizens are going to have to let the legislatures in Jefferson City know what they think,” concluded Boyd. Lawmakers have pre-filed two bills in an effort to find a solution. The 2017 legislative session starts Wednesday, January 04, 2017.

Those who oppose the REAL ID Act believe it’s a violation of privacy. In addition to Missouri, eight other states are not in compliance with the REAL ID Act.

Below are acceptable forms of identification the TSA would accept.
• Driver’s licenses or other state photo identity cards issued by Department of Motor Vehicles (or equivalent) in accordance with REAL ID enforcement schedule described above.
• U.S. passport
• U.S. passport card
• DHS trusted traveler cards (Global Entry, NEXUS, SENTRI, FAST)
• U.S. military ID (active duty or retired military and their dependents, and DoD civilians)
• U.S. Merchant Mariner Credential
• Permanent resident card
• Border crossing card
• DHS-designated enhanced driver’s license
• Airline or airport-issued ID (if issued under a TSA-approved security plan)
• Federally recognized, tribal-issued photo ID
• HSPD-12 PIV card
• Foreign government-issued passport
• Canadian provincial driver’s license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada card
• Transportation worker identification credential
• Immigration and Naturalization Service Employment Authorization Card (I-766)