Democrats choose Springfield's Quade for leadership position

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) — Senate Republicans have nominated state Sen. Dave Schatz to serve as the next president pro tem of the Missouri Senate.

Schatz, of Sullivan, emerged the victor Thursday from a four-way race for the chamber's top legislative position. His nomination will need confirmation by the full Senate when it convenes in January.
Republicans picked Caleb Rowden, of Columbia, as Senate majority leader.

Senate Democrats chose Gina Walsh, of St. Louis County, to continue as minority leader.

House Democrats picked Crystal Quade, of Springfield, to serve as their minority leader.

House Republicans previously nominated Elijah Haahr, of Springfield, as speaker.

Republicans maintained their supermajorities in both legislative chambers during Tuesday's elections. If preliminary vote totals hold, Republicans will have a 116-47 majority in the House and a 24-10 majority in the Senate.

Read the original version of this article at